top of page

Old Habits Die Hard



I think it's crucial for people to maintain a work-life balance, including writers. Give yourself time to pursue hobbies, other interests, other environments and get out of the house (we all know writing is a solitary endeavor) to see new people and environments. Re-balancing your mind and getting something fresh in there can treat some of the boredom and stagnation that leads to writer's block.


I'm not a talented painter or sculptor, but I do like creating things with my hands. I've dabbled in crocheting a few times (still dabbling I guess), used to play keyboard/piano and ukulele a bit, and I also used to make journals. I even sold a few, though many were given as gifts.


After a tumultuous couple of years, I gave it up for lack of time/space/money/mental energy. But the urge to create something didn't just go away. It lingered in the back of my head like a character that won't shut up until you tell her story. Once things re-stabilized in my life, I realized I had been slowly regathering supplies over time. Cardboard for covers, threads, pretty paper to go over the cardboard, and so on.


This weekend I finally listened to myself, dug those supplies out of a box in the basement, went to the craft store to purchase the rest (which really just involved an awl and a paper cutter with a 50% off coupon. yessssss), and voila. Suddenly this book exists.


I understand there is a bit of privilege that comes from being able to have hobbies like this. Like I said, I had to give it up for a while. But the nice thing about writing, is that there really is no cost but your time. I also understand that having time is a privilege. There's no free time if you're working multiple jobs to get by while you go to school, for example.


I urge you to fill that time with things that fill your heart, and your mind, and your soul. It will sustain you through the days when time is stolen from you for other things. I hope people see things you accomplish and say 'wow, she must have a lot of time on her hands', even if you don't.

Related Posts

See All
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page